Ex­hi­bi­tion

Rus­sian Avant-Garde at the Mu­se­um Lud­wig: Orig­i­nal and Fake
Ques­tions, Re­search, Ex­pla­na­tions

9/26/2020–1/3/2021

Af­ter a long pe­ri­od in which the sub­ject was ta­boo, an in­creas­ing num­ber of mu­se­ums are open­ing up to a trans­par­ent ac­count­ing of coun­ter­feit works, exchang­ing in­sights, and, if ne­ces­sary, de­cid­ing to write off works from their col­lec­tions. With a stu­dio ex­hi­bi­tion on the Rus­sian avant- garde, the Mu­se­um Lud­wig is ask­ing ques­tions about the au­then­tic­i­ty of works in its col­lec­tion. Thanks to Peter and Irene Lud­wig, in ad­di­tion to Pop Art and Pi­cas­so, the Rus­sian avant-garde is one of the fo­cus­es of the mu­se­um’s col­lec­tion, with more than 600 works from the pe­ri­od be­tween 1905 and 1930, in­clud­ing some 100 paint­in­gs.

Ex­hi­bi­tion

Sisi in Pri­vate: The Em­press’s Pho­to Al­bums

10/24/2020 – 2/21/2021

Em­­press Elis­a­­beth of Aus­­tria-Hun­­gary, called Sisi, col­lec­t­ed pho­­to­­graphs in the 1860s, but kept them pri­­vate through­out her life. To­­day the Mu­se­um Lud­wig holds eigh­­teen of her al­bums with some 2000 pho­­to­­graphs. The most renowned are from her “al­bums of beau­ties,” high­­­ly staged por­­traits of other wo­m­en. The pre­sen­­ta­­tion out­­­lines the con­nec­­tions be­tween her al­­most ob­s­es­­sive col­lec­t­ing of por­­traits of wo­m­en and the im­age of her­­self that she cre­at­ed.

Video Gallery

You can watch more videos about our ex­hi­bi­tion pro­gram here.

Museum

360° Pano­ram­ic tour

Dis­cov­er high­lights from our col­lec­tion vir­tu­al­ly: 360° Pano­ram­ic tour

Im­por­tant News

Dear vis­i­tors,

We are pleased to an­nounce that the Mu­se­um Lud­wig has re­opened. Vis­i­tors do not have to book tick­ets in ad­vance. Since is it our pri­or­i­ty to pro­tect you and our staff, we kind­ly ask you to wear a mask cov­er­ing your mouth and nose dur­ing your vis­it.

 

 

John Dewey, Who?

New Pre­sen­ta­tion of the Col­lec­tion of Con­tem­po­rary Art

The Mu­se­um Lud­wig is show­ing a new pre­sen­­ta­­tion of its col­lec­­tion of con­tem­po­rary art on the base­­ment lev­­el.

Col­lec­tion On­line

Get to the sci­en­tif­ic database to re­search the col­lec­­tion of the Mu­se­um Lud­wig here.

Ex­hi­bi­tion

Schultze Pro­jects #2

Av­ery Singer

Oc­to­ber 2019 – Oc­to­ber 2021

For the se­cond edi­tion of the se­ries Schultze Pro­jects, the Amer­i­can artist Av­ery Singer has cre­at­ed a new, site-spe­cif­ic work for the stair­well at the Mu­se­um Lud­wig. The sev­en-part work is over sev­en­teen me­ters long and three and a half me­ters high. The name of the se­ries re­fers to Ber­nard Schultze and his wife Ur­su­la (Schultze-Bluhm), whose es­tate is ma­n­aged by the Mu­se­um Lud­wig, and in whose me­m­o­ry ev­ery two years since 2017 an artist has been in­vit­ed to cre­ate a ma­jor work for the pro­mi­nent front wall of the stair­well.

Museum

On­line Tick­et

Avoid the line and book your tick­et on­line in ad­vance. It con­tains a public tran­s­port tick­et (VRS) and is valid for three years af­ter purchase.

Event

Late Night Thurs­day

On the first Thurs­­day of ev­ery month un­til 10 p.m.

Ev­ery first Thurs­day of the month we are open un­til 10 p.m.

Ausstel­lung

Rus­sische Avant­garde im Mu­se­um Lud­wig – Orig­i­nal und Fälschung
Fra­gen, Un­ter­suchun­gen, Erk­lärun­gen

26.9.2020 – 3.1.2021

Im­mer mehr Museen öff­nen sich nach langer Tabuisierung für ei­nen trans­par­en­ten Um­gang mit Fälschun­gen, tauschen Erken­nt­nisse aus und entschei­den sich – falls notwendig – , Werke aus der Samm­lung abzuschreiben. Mit ein­er Stu­dioauss­tel­lung zur Rus­sischen Avant­garde stellt sich das Mu­se­um Lud­wig den Fra­gen nach Au­then­tiz­ität in sein­er Samm­lung. Die Rus­sische Avant­garde bildet dank Peter und Irene Lud­wig – neben Pop Art und Pi­cas­so – ei­nen Samm­lungssch­w­er­punkt des Mu­se­ums: Sie um­fasst 600 Ar­beit­en aus der Zeit von 1905 bis 1930, darun­ter rund 100 Gemälde.

Ausstel­lung

Sisi pri­vat. Die Fo­toal­ben der Kais­erin

24.10.2020 – 21.2.2021

Elis­a­­beth von Öster­reich-Un­­garn, ge­­nan­nt Sisi, sam­melte in den 1860er Jahren Fo­­to­­gra­­fien, die sie zeitlebens pri­­vat hielt. Heute ver­wahrt das Mu­se­um Lud­wig achtzehn ihr­er Al­ben mit cir­­ca 2000 Fo­­to­­gra­­fien. Am bekan­n­testen sind ihre so­ge­­nan­n­ten „Schön­heit­en-Al­ben“, hoch in­­sze­nierte Porträts an­der­er Frauen. In der Präsen­­ta­­tion wer­­den die Zusam­­men­hänge zwischen Si­sis ger­adezu ob­s­es­­siv­en Sam­meln von Frauen­­porträts und dem Bild, das sie von sich en­twirft sk­izziert.

Video­ga­lerie

Weitere Videos zu unserem Auss­tel­lungspro­gramm fin­d­en Sie hi­er.

Event

Dig­i­taler Tag der Res­tau­rierung

Das Mu­se­um Lud­wig bi­etet in die­sem Jahr zum Eu­­ropäischen Tag der Res­­tau­rierung für ei­­nen Mo­­nat ein dig­i­­tales Pro­­gramm an.

In­for­ma­tion

Liebe Be­such­er*in­nen,

wir freuen uns sehr, dass das Mu­se­um Lud­wig wied­er geöffnet hat und Sie uns ohne vorherige Re­servierung be­suchen kön­nen. Alle wichti­gen In­for­ma­tio­nen zu Ihrem Be­such haben wir hi­er für Sie zusam­menge­tra­gen.

Wir freuen uns, Sie wied­er im Mu­se­um be­grüßen zu dür­fen!

John Dewey, Who?

Ne­upräsen­ta­tion der Samm­lung für Ge­gen­wart­skunst

Zum drit­ten Mal zeigt das Mu­se­um Lud­wig im Un­terges­choss eine Ne­up­räsen­ta­tion sein­er Samm­lung von Ge­gen­wart­skunst.

Abbildung Sammlung Museum Ludwig

Museum

Die Samm­lung des Mu­se­um Lud­wig

Die Sam­m­lung des Mu­se­um Lud­wig bein­hal­tet die wichtig­sten Po­si­­tio­­nen der Mod­­erne vom Be­ginn des 20. Jahrhun­derts bis zur Ge­­gen­wart.

Samm­lung on­line

Hi­er ge­lan­­gen Sie zur wis­sen­schaftlichen Daten­bank zur Sam­m­lung des Mu­se­um Lud­wig.

Stel­le­nausschrei­bung

Fol­gende Po­si­tion ist im Mu­se­um Lud­wig aktuell frei:

Wir suchen ab so­fort eine*n Res­tau­ra­tor*in für Gemälde im Mu­se­um Lud­wig (19,5 Std./Woche). Weitere In­fos hi­er.

Ausstel­lung

Schultze Pro­jects #2
Av­ery Singer

Ok­to­ber 2019 – Ok­to­ber 2021

An­läss­lich der zweit­en Aus­gabe der Rei­he Schultze Pro­jects hat die US-amerikanische Kün­st­lerin Av­ery Singer ein neues, ortsspez­i­fisch­es Werk für das Trep­pen­haus des Mu­se­um Lud­wig geschaf­fen. Die sieben­teilige Ar­beit ist über sie­bzehn Me­ter lang und dreiein­halb Me­ter hoch. Der Name der Rei­he bezie­ht sich auf Ber­nard Schultze und seine Ehe­frau Ur­su­la (Schultze-Bluhm), deren Nach­lass das Mu­se­um Lud­wig ver­wal­tet und zu deren Ge­denken seit 2017 alle zwei Jahre eine Kün­st­lerin oder ein Kün­stler ein­ge­la­den wird, ein groß­for­matiges Werk für die pro­mi­nente Stirn­wand im Trep­pen­haus anzufer­ti­gen.

Museum

On­li­net­ick­et

Buchen Sie hi­er be­quem Ihr On­line-Tick­et für Ihren Be­such im Mu­se­um Lud­wig. Es en­thält ei­nen VRS-Fahrschein und ist ab Kauf drei Jahre gültig.

Langer Don­n­er­s­tag

Der Lange Don­n­er­s­tag

An je­dem 1. Don­n­er­s­tag
im Mo­nat bis 22 Uhr

Das Mu­se­um bleibt an je­dem er­sten Don­n­er­s­tag im Mo­nat bis 22 Uhr geöffnet. Der näch­ste Lange Don­n­er­s­tag fin­d­et am 5. Novem­ber statt.